Chief Ministers of India

In India, the Chief Minister is the real ruler of the State and his role, status and position is very high. The Chief Minister is in the state what the Prime Minister is at the centre. After every general election, the Governor appoints the leader of the majority party in the State Assembly or as is often the case, the leader of a combination of parties forming a coalition, the Chief Minister of the state.

The Chief Minister is the head of the Government. The Ministers are appointed on the advice of the Chief Minister. Portfolios among ministers are in reality allocated by the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister has also the power to ease a minister out of office. He may advice the Governor to drop a minister. The Chief Minister presides over the meetings of the State Cabinet. The Chief Minister also is the leader of the legislature. He is the leader of the majority group. Through his control over the legislative majority, he controls the legislature. The position of the Chief Minister is very important and his role is to carry out the most important functions of the state.

In the Republic of India, a chief minister is the head of government of each of twenty-nine states and two union territories (Delhi and Puducherry). According to the Constitution of India, at the state-level, the governor is de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister. Following elections to the state legislative assembly, the governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government. The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given he has the assembly's confidence, the chief minister's term is usually for a maximum of five years; there are no limits to the number of terms he/she can serve.

List of All Chief Ministers of India

Sno Photo Chief Minister Name State Name Party Name
1 N Chandrababu Naidu N Chandrababu Naidu Andhra Pradesh
Telugu Desam Party
2 Pema Khandu Pema Khandu Arunachal Pradesh
People's Party of Arunachal
3 Sarbananda Sonowal Sarbananda Sonowal Assam
Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Nitish Kumar Nitish Kumar Bihar
Janata Dal (United)
5 Raman Singh Raman Singh Chhattisgarh
Bharatiya Janata Party
6 Arvind Kejriwal Arvind Kejriwal Delhi
Aam Aadmi Party
7 Manohar Parrikar Manohar Parrikar Goa
Bharatiya Janata Party
8 Vijay Rupani Vijay Rupani Gujarat
Bharatiya Janata Party
9 Manohar Lal Khattar Manohar Lal Khattar Haryana
Bharatiya Janata Party
10 Jai Ram Thakur Jai Ram Thakur Himachal Pradesh
11 Mehbooba Mufti Mehbooba Mufti Jammu and Kashmir
Jammu And Kashmir People's Democratic Party
12 Raghubar Das Raghubar Das Jharkhand
Bharatiya Janata Party
13 Siddaramaiah Siddaramaiah Karnataka
Indian National Congress
14 Pinarayi Vijayan Pinarayi Vijayan Kerala
Communist Party of India (Marxist)
15 Shivraj Singh Chouhan Shivraj Singh Chouhan Madhya Pradesh
Bharatiya Janata Party
16 Devendra Fadnavis Devendra Fadnavis Maharashtra
Bharatiya Janata Party
17 N Biren Singh N Biren Singh Manipur
Bharatiya Janata Party
18 Conrad Kongkal Sangma Conrad Kongkal Sangma Meghalaya
National People's Party
19 Lal Thanhawla Lal Thanhawla Mizoram
Indian National Congress
20 Neiphiu Rio Neiphiu Rio Nagaland
Naga People's Front
21 Naveen Patnaik Naveen Patnaik Orissa
Biju Janata Dal
22 V Narayanasamy V Narayanasamy Puducherry
Indian National Congress
23 Amarinder Singh Amarinder Singh Punjab
Indian National Congress
24 Vasundhara Scindia Vasundhara Scindia Rajasthan
Bharatiya Janata Party
25 Pawan Chamling Pawan Chamling Sikkim
Sikkim Democratic Front
26 Edappadi Palaniswami Edappadi Palaniswami Tamil Nadu
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
27 K Chandrashekhar Rao K Chandrashekhar Rao Telangana
Telangana Rashtra Samithi
28 Biplab Kumar Deb Biplab Kumar Deb Tripura
Bharatiya Janata Party
29 Yogi Adityanath Yogi Adityanath Uttar Pradesh
Bharatiya Janata Party
30 Trivendra Singh Rawat Trivendra Singh Rawat Uttarakhand
Bharatiya Janata Party
31 Mamata Banerjee Mamata Banerjee West Bengal
All India Trinamool Congress