Vice President of India

Shri M Venkaiah Naidu

Shri Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu, born 1 July 1949, is an Indian politician who is the 13th and current Vice President of India, in office since 11th Aug, 2017. He served as the Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Urban Development and Information and Broadcasting in the Modi Cabinet. A prominent leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), he also served as its national president from 2002 to 2004. Earlier, he was the Union Cabinet Minister for Rural Development in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.

Naidu was born on 1 July 1949 at Chavatapalem, in the Nellore district of the Indian State of Andhra Pradesh. He completed schooling from V. R. High School, Nellore, and pursued his bachelor's degree in politics and diplomatic studies from V. R. College. Later, he acquired a bachelor's degree in law with specialisation in international law from Andhra University College of Law, Visakhapatnam. He was a swayamsevak in the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh and joined ABVP during his college days.He was elected as the president of the students union of colleges affiliated to the Andhra University. He came into spotlight for his prominent role in the Jai Andhra Movement of 1972. While Kakani Venkata Ratnam led the movement from Vijayawada, Naidu took active part in the agitation in Nellore, until it was called off a year later.

In 1974, he became the convener of the anti-corruption Jayaprakash Narayan Chhatra Sangharsh Samiti of Andhra Pradesh. He took to streets in protest against the emergency and was imprisoned. From 1977–80, he was president of its youth wing.

Positions held

  • 1973–74 : President, Students Union, Andhra University
  • 1974 : Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Yuvajana Chatra Sangharsha Samithi, Andhra Pradesh
  • 1977–80 : President, Youth Wings of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh
  • 1978–85 : Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh (2 terms)
  • 1980–85 : Leader, B.J.P Legislative Party in Andhra Pradesh
  • 1985–88 : General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State B.J.P.
  • 1988–93 : President, Andhra Pradesh State B.J.P.
  • 1993–September 2000 : National General Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Secretary, B.J.P. Parliamentary Board
  • Secretary, B.J.P. Central Election Committee
  • Spokesperson of the B.J.P.
  • Since 1998 : Member, Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (3 terms)
  • 30 September 2000–1 July 2002 : Minister of Rural Development
  • 1 July 2002–5 October 2004 : National President, Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Since April 2005: National Vice-President, Bharatiya Janata Party.
  • 2014–2017: Minister of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs
  • 2016–2017: Minister of Information and Broadcasting
  • 2017–Till Date: Vice President-elect of India

The Vice-President of India is the second-highest constitutional office in India after the President. Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that "there shall be a Vice-President of India." The Vice-President acts as President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations.

The Vice-President of India is also ex officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha. When a bill is introduced in Rajya Sabha, vice-president decides whether it is a financial bill or not. If he is of the opinion, a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a money bill, he would refer the case to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha for deciding it.

Article 66 of the Indian Constitution states the manner of election of the Vice-President. The Vice-President is elected indirectly by members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of Proportional Representation by means of the Single transferable vote and the voting is by secret ballot conducted by election commission.


As in the case of the President, in order to be qualified to be elected as Vice-President, a person must:

1. Have completed more than 35 years of age.

2. Not hold any office of profit.

While in order to be a President, a person must be qualified for election as a member of the Lok Sabha (House of Peoples), the Vice-President must be qualified for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha (Council of States). This difference is because the Vice-President is to act as the ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.


The Vice-President holds office for five years. The Vice-President can be re-elected any number of times. However, the office may be terminated earlier by death, resignation or removal. The Constitution does not provide a mechanism of succession to the office of Vice-President in the event of an extraordinary vacancy, apart from a re-election. However, the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha can perform the Vice-President's duties as the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha in such an event.

List of All Vice Presidents of India

Vice PresidentTerm StartTerm EndPresident
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu Aug 11, 2017Till DateRam Nath Kovind
Mohammad Hamid AnsariAug 11, 2007Aug 11, 2017Pratibha Patil
Pranab Mukherjee
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat Aug 19, 2002Jul 21, 2007A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
Krishan Kant Aug 21, 1992Jul 24, 1997Kocheril Raman Narayanan
Aug 21, 1997Jul 27, 2002A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
Kocheril Raman Narayanan Sep 3, 1987Jul 24, 1992Shankar Dayal Sharma
Shankar Dayal Sharma Sep 3, 1987Jul 24, 1992Ramaswamy Venkataraman
Ramaswamy Venkataraman Aug 31, 1984Jul 24, 1987Giani Zail Singh
Justice Muhammad Hidayatullah Aug 31, 1979Aug 30, 1984Shri Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Basappa Danappa Jatti Aug 31, 1974Aug 30, 1979Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
Gopal Swarup Pathak Aug 31, 1969Aug 30, 1974Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri
Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri May 13, 1967May 3, 1969Dr. Zakir Hussain
Dr. Zakir Hussain May 13, 1962May 12, 1967Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan May 13, 1952May 12, 1962Dr. Rajendra Prasad