Prime Minister of India

Shri Narendra Modi

Narendra Damodardas Modi, born 17 September 1950, is an Indian politician who is the 14th and current Prime Minister of India, in office since May 2014. He was the Chief Minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014, and is the Member of Parliament for Varanasi. Modi, a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is a Hindu nationalist and member of the right-wing Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

Dynamic, dedicated and determined, Narendra Modi arrives as a ray of hope in the lives of a billion Indians. His laser focus on development and his proven ability to deliver results have made him one of India's most popular leaders. His promise is to build a nation that is strong, prosperous and inclusive, where each and every Indian can realize their hopes and aspirations.Narendra Modi made his mark on both the Indian and global stage as the chief minister of the western state of Gujarat for a record four terms. There, he brought about a paradigm shift in people's lives by delivering pro-citizen good governance, where the state served its people humbly and honestly. He transformed Gujarat, which was reeling from the aftereffects of a devastating earthquake, into a growth engine that made a strong contribution to India's development.

Always leading from the front and working towards all-round development, Modi built layers of infrastructure across the state, just as he restructured and simplified the bureaucracy of government to make it work efficiently, honestly and humanely. Under his leadership the Gujarat government won over 300 awards at the domestic and international level including those from bodies such as the UN.Narendra Modi has achieved all this thanks to hard work and the values instilled in his childhood.

Born on 17 September 1950 in a small town in Gujarat, he grew up in a loving but poor family 'without a spare rupee'. The initial hardships of life not only taught the value of hard work but also revealed to him the avoidable sufferings of the common people. That is why as chief minister, he lived his life by the principle of 'Antyodaya', of serving the last person in the queue. From a very young age he immersed himself in service to the nation, working with patriotic organisations.

He is a 'people's leader', dedicated to improving their well-being. Nothing is more pleasing to Modi than being among ordinary people, sharing their joys and alleviating their sorrows. His powerful, personal 'connect' on the ground is complemented by a strong presence online where he is known as India's most techno-savvy leader, using the web to reach people and bring about change in their lives. He is very active on social media, including Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and other forums.Beyond politics, Narendra Modi enjoys writing and is the author of several books, including poetry. His day always begins with yoga, which centres him and instills a sense of calm in an otherwise fast-paced routine.This is the man, an embodiment of courage, compassion and conviction, on whom the nation has bestowed its mandate, hoping that he will rejuvenate India and make it a bright beacon to the world.

Contact Details:

Prime Minister's Office

South Block, Raisina Hill

New Delhi-110011

Phone No: +91-11-23012312

Fax: +91-11-23019545, 23016857



The Prime Minister of India is the head of government and leader of the executive branch of the Government of India. The Prime Minister is also the chief adviser to the President of India and head of the Council of Ministers. They can be a member of any of the two houses of Parliament (the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha), but has to be the leader of the political party, having a majority in the Lok Sabha.

The Prime Minister is the senior member of cabinet in the executive branch of government in a parliamentary system. The Prime Minister selects and can dismiss other members of the cabinet; allocates posts to members within the Government; is the presiding member and chairman of the cabinet.

The federal or union cabinet headed by the Prime Minister is appointed by the President of India to assist the latter in the administration of the affairs of the executive. Union cabinet is collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha as per Article 75(3). The Prime Minister shall always enjoy the confidence of Lok Sabha and shall resign if they are unable to prove majority when instructed by the President.

List of All Prime Ministers of India

Sno Name Duration
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 15th August 1947 – 27th May 1964
2 Gulzari Lal Nanda 27th May 1964 – 09th June 1964
11 January 1964 – 24 January 1964
3 Lal Bahadur Shashtri 09th June 1964 – 11 January 1966
4 Smt. Indira Gandhi 24 January 1966 – 24 march 1977
14th January 1980 –31st October 1984
5 Shri Morarji Desai 24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979
6 Shri Charan Singh 28 July 1979 – 14 January 1980
7 Shri Rajiv Gandhi 31st October 1984 – 02nd December 1989
8 Shri VishwanathPratap Singh 02 December 1989 – 10 November 1990
9 Shri Chandra Shekhar 10th November 1990 – 21st June 1991
10 Shri P. V. Narasimha Rao 21st June 1991 – 16th May 1996
11 Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16th May 1996 – 01st June 1996
19 March 1998 – 22 May 2004
12 Shri H. D. Deve Gowda 01st June 1996 – 21st April 1997
13 Shri Inder Kumar Gujral 21st April 1997 – 19th March 1998
14 Dr. Manmohan Singh 22nd May 2004 – 26 May 2014
15 Shri Narendra Modi 26th May 2014 – till Date